Security!! How to See Other Devices Logged Into Your Facebook Account

You logged into your Facebook account on your friend’s computer, and you’re not sure if you logged out. Or maybe you’re worried someone else has your password. Thankfully, Facebook tracks where you’re logged in, so you can see every device logged into your account, and end any sessions you don’t want active.

Facebook provides data on the location, the device or browser used, and the last accessed date or time for every active login session. If you see any unfamiliar devices or locations, you can end those sessions from your current one.

To find out where your account is currently logged in, open a web browser, log into Facebook, and go to the Facebook account settings page. Then, click “Security” on the left side of the browser window.

01_clicking_security

On the Security Settings page, click on the “Where You’re Logged In” section. There’s an “Edit” link, but you can click on any part of the section to view and edit it.

02_clicking_edit_on_where_youre_logged_in

     

online college university scholarships

 

The Where You’re Logged In section expands. All your logged in sessions are listed under headings for each platform or device, showing the number of active sessions on that device. Click on a heading that has at least one active session to expand it and see the details of each session.

Pay close attention to the access time, location, and device of the session. If it matches one you know you initiated, then it’s okay–but if you see a session from an iPad and you don’t own an iPad, you know something is fishy (and you may want to change your password.)

To log out of a session, click “End Activity”.

03_clicking_end_activity

If there was only one active session under that heading, the section closes automatically. Open each of the headings and see if there are any other active sessions you want to end. If you want to end all the sessions, click “End All Activity” at the top of the Where You’re Logged In section.

04_activity_ended

When you’re finished ending active Facebook sessions, click “Close” at the bottom of the section to close it.

05_closing_section

Now that you see how easy it is to check on your active Facebook sessions, you can keep a close eye on your account, making sure you’re not logged in where you don’t want to be.

HOWTOGEEK.COM

Leave a Reply